Karnataka University, Dharwad

Karnataka University, Dharwad
Karnataka University, Dharwad

Established in October 1949 and officially inaugurated in March 1950, Karnataka University, Dharwad is accredited by NAAC with an ‘A’ grade and has been awarded the title ‘University with Potential for Excellence’ (UPE) by the University Grants Commission. 

The jurisdiction of the university covers Dharwad, Gadag, Haveri, and Uttara Kannada districts. The campus spans around 888 acres offering various courses in Arts, Commerce, Education, Law, Management, Science and Technology, and Social Sciences, etc.

Departments and Courses offered by KU, Dharwad

Various Courses offered by different departments at Karnataka University, Dharwad is as follows: Expand to know more!

Postgraduate Centers

There are 4 Postgraduate Centers affiliated with Karnataka University, Dharwad. They are as follows

  1. Postgraduate Center – Belgaum: Karnataka University’s Belgaum Campus was established on 26-6-1982. The center includes Seven Departments namely Commerce, Economics, Geography, Mathematics, Sociology, Kannada, and Marathi. The campus is having an independent Library with adequate collections of documents.
  2. Postgraduate Center – Karwar: KUD opened a PG center in 1968 to study Marine Science at Karwar, the district headquarters of Uttara Kannada district, about 175 km away from the main campus. Marine Zoology was introduced as a specialization of M.Sc. degree in Zoology and a Laboratory was established at Kodibag Karwar, with facilities for nearshore research.
  3. Postgraduate Center – Kerimattihalli, Haveri District: Karnataka University’s Post Graduate Centre at Kerimattihalli in Haveri District was established in the year 2001. The P.G.Centre is located at Kerimattihalli, about 8 km from Haveri, and spread over an area of 48 acres. It offers PG courses in 6 disciplines namely Commerce, Kannada, English, Sociology, Social Work, Mass Communication, and Journalism
  4. Postgraduate Center – Gadag: PG Center at Gadag was started in the year 2000. It offers PG courses in Master of Commerce(M.Com), Master of Business Administration(MBA), and Post Graduate Diploma in Computer Application (PGDCA). The intake respectively for M.Com, MBA, and PGDCA courses is 43,60 and 30.
Karnataka University, Dharwad
Aerial View of Karnataka University, Dharwad
Share this article!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!