Dharwad Belagavi Railway line gains some momentum

Dharwad Belagavi Railway line which is one of the dream projects of Late Shri Suresh Angadi, Minster of State, Railways, has finally gained some momentum. Chief Minister of Karnataka Shri B S Yediyurappa has sanctioned ₹463 Crores to the railway line in the Karnataka Budget 2021-22.

At present, there is no direct Railway line between Dharwad and Belagavi, and the train takes a circuitous route via Londa, Khanapur. Sometimes the journey takes up to 3 hours for just 78km distance. People were demanding a direct Railway line between two important cities of North Karnataka for a long time.

Realizing the demand and needs of people, then MoS Late Shri Suresh Angadi had immediately ordered a survey for the new Railway line in between Dharwad and Belagavi when he took the office of MoS in 2019. Continuing the good efforts, he had managed to sanction the Railway line at a cost of ₹927.40 Crores in September 2020.

Dharwad Belagavi Railway line: Route Map

The railway line connecting Dharwad and Belagavi will have 9 intermediate stations namely Kyarkoppa, Mummigatti, Tegur, Kittur, Hulikatti, MK Hubballi, Bagewadi, Kanvikaravinkoppa, and Desur. Kyarkoppa on the outskirts of Dharwad city and Desur near Belagavi will be made as junctions.

Dharwad Belagavi Railway line
Proposed Route Map of the new Railway line

Recently, Union Minister of Parliamentary affairs, Coal and Mines Pralhad Joshi had said that the work of the new railway line will be expedited. Reassuring his words, Karnataka CM B S Yediyurappa has sanctioned ₹463 Crores to the new railway line and assured that the complete cost of land acquisition will be borne by the State Government. CM BSY also said that “True respects to late Shri Suresh Angadi will be paid by early completion of this project”.

Share this article!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!